Uncategorized

Make teaching look easy

Retirement hit me like a ton of bricks. Or really a ton of anything. I never intended to retire.

When I began teaching at the age of 30, I really wanted to do it forever. I realized I had finally found the one thing I was super passionate about, teaching. I would come running home to talk about techniques to get kids to open up. Techniques to get kids wanting to know more.

The biggest secret I learned? Make a kid think they are about to learn something their parents DO NOT WANT THEM TO KNOW. Obviously this sound like a trick. It required a month or so of drawing them in close. Letting them know that the teacher was not there for a check. Then, start teaching as though you were talking to people that you wanted to really know. Find out about them and what they like to do. Break up the hour with a total “Oh Emma, you will not believe this” story about science. Always driving the lesson back to the point.

I have had more success with teaching science when it is presented like an interactive tale. Let them talk about the topic. Make no mistake, they will learn anything they think is illicit, salacious, or scandalous. Sing. Act. Do not make science about mere facts. Sprinkle the facts in with the joy of finding things out about the world.

Take them to the lab. Do it safely. Practice before you try letting them do anything. Let them know it is acceptable to fail at a task. Plan each lab for two to three days to allow for a retry. They will not get this in the university. Show them how to structure a lab report. Make them do it in class so that you can be assured that mom is not finishing it at home for them.

Most of all, enjoy teaching. Make the student enjoy learning.

BTW…Red Hot Chili Peppers song “Give it away” is an excellent song choice for cation formation Kids will be mouthing it on tests for months after hearing it.

Standard

Leave a comment