Uncategorized

“The” pick-up line

Valentine’s Day approaches.  As it does I am reminded of the MOST EFFECTIVE pick-up line that ever existed.  I almost dare not think of it.

In the early 1970’s my mom and dad owned a small grocery store.  We (the four of us) lived right beside it.  We lived our lives in it.  We also saw everyone in the community live theirs.

Miss Suzie lived about four miles from the store.  She lived with her son Benny.  Miss Suzie had land and money, but she refused to own a car or a phone.  These play into the line I assure you.

Every day Benny would walk to the store and ask my mom to use the phone.  Every day my mother said that Benny was free to use the phone.

Benny would get on the phone and call a different woman each and every day.  Every day Benny would say the same pick-up line “Get up N####, what’s wrong wit chu?”

The reason I know this line was devastating to the ladies?  Each and Every Day a different car or truck would pull up and get Benny.   Woman of all stations, colors, persuasions would come get Benny.   He would grin at all of us and take off into his adventures.

I promise you, when he and Miss Suzie passed I cried.  The world’s greatest pick-up artist and his mama.

Standard

Leave a Reply

