Uncategorized

Somebody promised me a whupping (sorry Will Smith for stealing this line)

Over the past 20 years I have been the recipient of roughly 10+ absolute meltdowns/cussings.  I really do not understand what good parents think this does for the student.  Does not really bother me.  I am about to rant about this topic, so buckle up Buttercup. 

1-  I am trying to help your child.  If I were not trying to help your child…I would do something else with my time.  I try to teach your child just like I did my own two children.  I try to do my best to get them ready for the next step in their lives.  I hope they become great citizens.  I wish for them the best in life.  

2- Taxpayers do pay my salary.  Believe it or not…I made enough money from other endeavors in the last few years to pay my own salary.  It is true I get a paycheck.  But ask yourself “IF someone came into my place of business screaming that they pay my salary, would I think they were a fool?” Well, duh.    Any time you work the ultimate goal is to get paid by a consumer.  Teachers just have a large consumer base. So, LOTS of people pay my salary.  

3- If you promise to whup my ass (true dat), then you probably should have stayed at home.  If you feel compelled to tell me that “I don’t know you…but I don’t like you…”  You probably should have stayed at home.  Threats don’t work with me.  I am still going to do my job with joy.  I will remember you.  I will let other teachers know of what you are capable.  I will pity your child…but I won’t give him/her a grade.

 AND If you “whup my ass” or “Make my life miserable”…well, I will have a whupped ass.  AND you can have the privilege of telling everyone how you whupped an old person with lupus, RA, Chron’s disease…dang, you should just let life whup my ass.  It seems like life is doing your job for you!

4- If you feel compelled to question my parentage, my ethnicity, my understanding…Well, really.  Keep it to yourself.  AND tell your friends to stay of twitter/facebook talking about it.  The more you stir a pile of shit, the worse it stinks.  Yes.  You came to school and threatened me.  I sat there and thought you were an absolute ass.  I also mentally compiled my grocery list.  Then I tuned you out. 

5-Ten or Twenty  years ago, I probably would have been devastated by your comments.  Now?  Not so much.  Thanks for the memory.

6- Finally, to quote (or misquote)  Will Smith in Wild, Wild West… “Somebody promised me a whupping…” 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

